Past Winners Reviews

Wild Earth

  • 2023 Business of the Year Award
  • Annual Winner of 2023 Retail, Wholesale & Distribution Award
  • Winner of June 2023 Retail, Wholesale & Distribution Award
  • Annual Winner of 2022 Retail, Wholesale & Distribution Award
  • Winner of May 2022 Retail, Wholesale & Distribution Award

"The Gold Coast Business Excellence Awards is a respected institution within Gold Coast business, sporting, and political circles. The Awards, and the various functions in and around them, provide the ideal platform to showcase and celebrate the entrepreneurial spirit that is prolific here, and sets the Gold Coast apart from all other cities in Australia.

Whilst it's flattering to be recognised and acknowledged on a national and international level, there is something particularly humbling and gratifying about having a Gold Business Excellence Award bestowed upon the local business you've worked so hard to grow and develop. To receive this accolade in a room full of your peers, all from businesses you know and admire, is an extremely proud moment that is difficult to describe.

We'd like to thank Danielle and Marshall Hall for their tireless work in ensuring the ongoing success of the Gold Coast Business Excellence Awards. Your commitment knows no bounds and our city is lucky to have you at the helm."

Chris Somerville
Chief Executive Officer
Wild Earth


SEE Group

  • Winner of the September 2023 Family Business Award
  • Annual Winner of 2022 Construction & Trades Award
  • Winner of October 2022 Construction & Trades Award
  • Winner of October 2021 Construction & Trades Award

"The Gold Coast Business Excellence Awards is a prestigious event to award and acknowledge contributions, hard work, and the collective vision for a greater Gold Coast. The Gold Coast Business Excellence Awards is an amazing opportunity for businesses to showcase the hard work that our community of businesses is doing across the region. For businesses to collectively contribute to our region has immediate and long-term benefits for the Gold Coast, its people, and our growth across many industries.

Our community’s vision of the Gold Coast is realised through our region’s businesses - striving toward an enviable lifestyle, a stunning environment, and modern infrastructure that supports the city as it grows. We as businesses have an opportunity to contribute to this vision, and the Gold Coast Business Excellence Awards reflects outstanding contributions toward this goal.  

We are extremely grateful for the community built over the years, and we’d like to thank the Gold Coast Business Excellence Awards for all that is done behind the scenes and in the spotlight to grow a stronger Gold Coast business community. Peta Newton Executive Director Corporate Services."

Peta Newton
Executive Director - Corporate Services
SEE Group


GeSS Education

  • Winner of June 2023 Mayor's Innovation Award
  • Annual Winner of 2022 Education, Training & Employment Award
  • Winner of September 2022 Education, Training & Employment Award

"GeSS Education was honoured to accept the prestigious award for 2022 Gold Coast Business Excellence Annual Award for Education, Training and Employment. Being the first recipient of this new category, it was great to showcase our expertise as a local business to a wider audience and be recognised for our growth and success through business excellence. The Gala night was a massive highlight for our team to celebrate together which truly made our entire year!

The recognition and appreciation we received from peers and colleagues for this honour is a genuine testament to the high regard these awards have in the Gold Coast community. I would like to thank Danielle and Marshall Hall for making these local awards possible.

We have immensely enjoyed our participation and strongly encourage all Gold Coast businesses to enter."

Mrs Cristine Russell
Founder and Managing Director
GeSS Education


Medical Rescue

  • 2022 Business of the Year Award
  • Annual Winner of 2022 Health & Wellbeing Award
  • Winner of July 2022 Health & Wellbeing Award
  • Winner of August 2021 Health & Wellbeing Award
  • Winner of May 2017 Health & Wellbeing Award
  • Winner of May 2016 IT & Knowledge Management Award
  • Annual Winner of 2015 Health & Wellbeing Award
  • Winner of June 2015 Health & Wellbeing Award

"A professional services company such as Medical Rescue  is dependant on a great team of people . Our clinicians,  managers, instructors, and operations staff work tirelessly to ensure a high quality and timely response when called for. Being the recipient of the GCBEA awards has been a positive experience for our company. It allows us to recognise the enormous efforts made by our staff and the awards dinner allows us to share the experience with them.  The first award dinner was held the same day 20 of our staff had returned from supporting a disaster in the Philippines; an exhausting experience with difficult challenges. It was fantastic to have some of the returning team present that night who were ultimately being recognised for their efforts. Receiving an award is also an assurance to us as directors that we are on the right track and to keep going.

Applying for a Gold Coast Business Excellence Award gives you an opportunity to look closely at your business while answering the questions which in itself is a good practice. You get to share what your business is doing and be measured against  other businesses in similar categories. Just applying for an award creates the motivation to improve your management practices and be innovative.

There is always pressure to shift a growing business to a capital city but having been recognised at the Gold Coast Business Excellence Awards and introduced to other successful businesses is  yet another reason that we are determined to remain here on the beautiful Gold Coast . The business community here is thriving, the Council is supportive of small businesses and there is a great collaborative spirit. I am confident that through the GCBEA we have met a number of people who we could reach out to for guidance. We truly appreciate the recognition from GCBEA  and are grateful for the opportunities it has given us".

Dr Glenn McKay
Managing Director
Medical Rescue Group

www.medicalrescue.com.au


Paradise First Aid

  • Winner of May 2023 Education, Training & Employment Award
  • Winner of May 2022 Health & Wellbeing Award
  • Winner of August 2019 Health & Wellbeing Award
  • Winner of May 2018 Health & Wellbeing Award

"The Gold Coast Business Excellence Awards is a key event in our calendar each year. We have been fortunate to win three awards in the Health and Wellbeing category for 2018, 2019 and 2022, and one in the Training & Education category for 2023. 

Having exposure to other Gold Coast Businesses has enabled us to build relationships and contacts which we may not have had the opportunity to do otherwise. 

The Gold Coast Business Award logo is easily recognisable by businesses and individuals and allows us to showcase our achievements through our online presence. Our staff are proud of the business growth and success and this is one way of showing our current and prospective clients that Paradise First Aid is a leader in the First Aid Training industry."

Andy Panes
Director
Paradise First Aid


Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary

  • Winner of August 2023 Education, Training & Employment Award
  • Annual Winner of 2022 Tourism, Hospitality & Events Award
  • Winner of July 2022 Tourism, Hospitality & Events Award
  • Annual Winner of 2019 Tourism, Hospitality & Events Award
  • Winner of August 2019 Tourism, Hospitality & Events Award
  • Annual Winner of 2018 Student Employability Award
  • Winner of June 2018 Student Employability Award

"The Gold Coast Business Excellence Awards are an honour to participate in, and we are proud to name it amongst our achievements.

 Being awarded the Gold Coast Business Excellence Award for Tourism, Hospitality and Events for 2022 validated the tireless work and innovation of our entire team throughout COVID-19 - not only that we survived through difficult conditions and continued to achieve our mission, but that we were able to grow and become a leading business in the tourism industry on the Gold Coast.

 Our award entry has been invaluable tool due to the comprehensive way it summarises our operations, strategy, marketing, customer service and future plans. It has been used across our organisation in presenting business plans, grant and fundraising opportunities and as a starting point for other award entries.

 The award has provided our executive team with unique networking opportunities within the Gold Coast community, marketing and promotional opportunities for our brand and endorsed our organisations strategic direction. Since winning the Gold Coast Business Excellence Award, Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary won bronze for Major Tourist Attraction at the 2022 Australian Tourism Awards.

 Participating in the awards provides your business the opportunity to be recognised with the best business on the Gold Coast. They provide a lasting legacy that demonstrates to clients, partners and customers that your team has been recognised among peers for the quality and professionalism of your organisation."

Travis Couch
General Manager
Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary


Family Fresh

  • Annual Winner of 2015 Encouragement Award
  • Winner of May 2015 Mayor's Innovation GC Award

"I would just like to take a minute to thank you for our Gold Coast Business Excellence Innovation award.

The acknowledgement from both peers and colleagues alike for this honour, is a true testament to all that Family Fresh stand for and all that we set out to achieve.

We accept with great pleasure and pride this prestigious award, and look forward to future endeavours".

Kevin and Jenny Flanagan
Directors
Family Fresh

www.familyfresh.com.au



Burleigh Brewing Company

  • Annual Winner of 2014 Business of the Year Award
  • Annual Winner of 2014 Retail, Wholesale and Distribution Award
  • Winner of October 2014 Retail, Wholesale and Distribution Award

"We began entering the Gold Coast Business Excellence Awards in 2010 our third year of Burleigh Brewing Company's operations.

At the time, we saw the Awards as a great opportunity for us to get to know the 'best of the best' on the Gold Coast and also to benchmark our progress against them. Going through the process of compiling our entry information forced us to honestly assess the things that we believed were working well and the areas where we knew we needed to improve. Indeed we look forward to the process every year and the reality check of determining whether we have truly made improvements or advancements on the year before.

Our first monthly award was an amazing thrill! It suggested to us that we were at least on the right track and that we should keep working hard.

A sprinkling of monthly and category awards followed over the subsequent years. Regardless of the result on the Gala Awards night, every year we have cherished the opportunity to spend an evening with our team, to celebrate their contribution to Burleigh Brewing and to remind them that they are doing a brilliant job!

To be named the 2014 Supreme Gold Coast Business of the Year was the most wonderful acknowledgement of the hard work and efforts of not only the entire Burleigh Brewing team over the last 8 years, but also the support of every single supplier, customer and local Gold Coaster who has embraced our product, our business and our efforts in the community.

We truly appreciate the acknowledgement".

Peta Fielding
Director & CEO

www.burleighbrewing.com.au


Nucrush Group

  • Winner of July 2019 Construction and Trades Award
  • Winner of October 2018 Construction and Trades Award
  • Winner of May 2015 Manufacturing and Construction Award
  • Annual Winner of 2014 Manufacturing and Construction Award
  • Winner of June 2014 Manufacturing and Construction Award

"The Nucrush Group were very pleased to have received the 2014 Gold Coast Business Excellence Award for Manufacturing & Construction.

Recognition such as this is a testament to the combined efforts of all our employees both past and present.  Being able to use the logo on our website and emails is a powerful marketing tool  and helps reinforce our business image.

The end of year awards night was great and very well organised. It was fantastic to see so many successful and proud Gold Coast businesses celebrating their achievements together.

We would certainly recommend other businesses becoming  involved with these awards."

Declan Mackle
CEO

www.nucrush.com.au

Evolve Skateboards

  • Winner of July 2016 Mayor's Innovation GC Award
  • Winner of June 2015 Manufacturing and Construction Award
  • Winner of 2014 Annual Emerging Business Award
  • Winner of September 2014 Emerging Business Award

"Winning Emerging Business of the Year was a wonderful experience that allowed us to pause from our busy day to day activities and reflect with our team on how far we've all come together.

Along with the accolades and publicity from the awards, becoming part of the Gold Coast Awards circle has been instrumental in cementing our place in the local community.

On top of all this it has strengthened support from our customers while also opening up new opportunities to us."

Jeff and Fleur Anning
Founders

www.evolveskateboards.com.au


Cav's Steakhouse and Butchery

  • Winner of May 2015 Tourism, Hospitality and Events Award

"We were so honored to be the winner of the Business Excellence award for May 2015.

To be a winner of an award that highlights the growing importance of the Gold Coast as a business hub and recognise leading businesses is a huge achievement for us.

The award process also represented a great opportunity for gain an insight into our operations and business as a whole.

We appreciate all of our loyal customers from near and far and without their patronage we would not be here today.

Our award takes pride on our entry reception and does its job to foster pride amongst the community".

Richard Cavill
Owner/Operator

www.cavssteakhouse.com


e-CBD

  • Winner of May 2015 Knowledge Management and IT Award

"We've been entering the Gold Coast Business Excellence awards for the past seven years and are proud to have been regular finalists, taking home five awards in a variety of categories.

The awards are an opportunity to gain exposure for our best work and credibility as a local Gold Coast business.

For e-CBD though, the best feature of the awards is the benefit to our staff. Our team works hard to build excellent websites for our clients, keeping up to date with the latest technology so we can develop competitive sites for local businesses, as well as national and international companies. The Gold Coast Business Excellence Awards are an achievement we can all share in.

We appreciate the acknowledgement for all our hard work."

Marilyn Strauss
Director

www.e-cbd.com


GANDEN Engineers and Project Managers

  • Winner of June 2015 Emerging Business Award

"Winning the June 2015 Emerging Business Award was a massive highlight this year for our small, but ever growing and expanding, business.  Having entered previously but not managing to become an award winner made us all the more determined to keep on trying until we succeeded.   It is this tenacity and strong belief in our business that has contributed to the successes we are now seeing our company reach.

To have our efforts and hard work formally recognised by such prestigious awards is extremely satisfying and uplifting.  When our business partners, friends and family contact us to congratulate us and upon hearing our name of the radio it never ceases to create that special buzz feeling.  Being able to use the logos on our communications and website has also certainly helped increase our business profile.

We are very much looking forward to the Gala night in November and regardless of the overall winner outcome, we will be celebrating with our full team and having a well earned evening out together.  We are also looking forward to meeting the other finalists and sharing our stories together".

Darron Nutt
Director

www.ganden.com.au


HiRUM Software Solutions

  • Winner of September 2015 Mayor's Innovation GC Award
  • Winner of May 2014 Knowledge Management and IT Award

"HiRUM Software Solutions have been very pleased to be finalists in the Knowledge Management and IT category and the Mayor's Innovation GC category of the Gold Coast Business Excellence Awards for the past few years.

The Awards have offered an excellent opportunity to increase the profile of our business, through the efforts of the associated advertising campaign, across social media and the internet.  They have also provided us with a platform to celebrate our successes as a company and consolidate our momentum going forward.

We have thoroughly enjoyed our participation in this worthwhile and respected event".

Sylvia Johnston,
Senior Executive
&
Philip Johnston,
Director

www.hirum.com.au


GCOMM

  • Winner of 2017 Annual IT, Knowledge Management and Digital Services Award
  • Winner of June 2017 IT, Knowledge Management and Digital Services Award
  • Winner of July 2016 Knowledge Management and IT Award
  • Winner of July 2015 Knowledge Management and IT Award
  • Winner of 2014 Annual Knowledge Management and IT Award
  • Winner of June 2014 Knowledge Management and IT Award

"GCOMM has been a participant in the Gold Coast Business Excellence Awards since 2008, winning a category or award each year. As a Gold Coast founded company, the awards are not only a source of recognition of our achievements, but also a forum to meet and build relationships with other businesses who are excelling on the Gold Coast.

It is an honour to have received the Knowledge Management and IT Award again in 2017. The awards are held in the highest regard alongside our trophies as it is recognition and validation from the local business community of our continued success. The awards are a great source of team morale, as we work together toward our goals, and the awards night is a time to celebrate and thank our team for their hard work through the year.

The Gold Coast Business Excellence Awards are doing a fantastic job of shining a light on talent in our local area, and we encourage all Gold Coast businesses to enter."

Matthew Thompson
Director Business Development.

www.gcomm.com.au


ONGC Systems

  • Winner of September 2017 IT, Knowledge Management and Digital Services Award
  • Winner of 2016 Annual Knowledge Management and IT Award
  • Winner of October 2016 Knowledge Management and IT Award
  • Winner of September 2015 Knowledge Management and IT Award
  • Winner of August 2015 Knowledge Management and IT Award

"The Gold Coast Business Excellence Awards have helped elevate the awareness of our company in the local business community. The awards establish a level of credibility when working with new prospects. We certainly look to leverage off our achievements in all our digital correspondence and showcase our " Award Winning Logo". Additionally, the pride that the entire team feel when their work is acknowledge through the awards cannot be substituted.

As annual category award winners it demonstrates not just to new customers, but existing clients that ONGC are the leaders in technology and Digital Transformation on the Gold Coast.

Finally the celebration at the end of the year acknowledging all businesses not only represents a great networking opportunity but also a great party!"

Damien Rossiter
Director

www.ongc.com.au


Home Instead Senior Care Gold Coast

  • Winner of September 2017 Health and Wellbeing Award
  • Winner 2016 Annual Health and Wellbeing Award
  • Winner May 2016 Health and Wellbeing Award

"Winning our category in the 2016 Gold Coast Business Excellence Awards have been a revelation in terms of elevating our position in the local Aged Care sector and the Gold Coast business community. We have been able to leverage our position as a trusted resource to assist more seniors who wish to remain living independently in our community. Our award has been displayed across the Gold Coast aged care sector through senior functions and awareness groups, and local politicians expos and has created very positive and healthy discussions about our offering to the local community.

We have also received recognition from our networks and our clients both verbally and through written feedback. Our entire team are extremely proud on winning the award and are often be heard on the telephone talking to both perspective and current clients about the award.

The celebration at the end of the year is a great way to celebrate the success of the year past whilst creating great networking opportunities to further assist in the growth of our business."

Chris Davey and Steve Patterson
Owners

www.hiscgoldcoast.com.au


Brauer Industries

  • Winner of June 2017 Manufacturing Award
  • Winner of 2016 Annual Mayor's Innovation GC Award
  • Winner of June 2016 Mayor's Innovation GC Award
  • Winner of September 2015 Environment and Sustainability Award

"The team at Brauer Industries are absolutely thrilled to have been awarded various category awards over the last three years, especially considering the calibre of our local business competition. Not only has our success and recognition been a great reward for our dedicated and hard working team, the subsequent networking and marketing opportunities have proved to be a considerable asset.

Brauer Industries is a proud manufacturer of innovative technology and is heavily invested in research and development therefore winning the prestigious Innovation category award last year was a wonderful way to validate our progress/growth.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank the entire GCBEA Committee for their support and the wonderful job they do highlighting Gold Coast business achievements and for hosting a world class awards event."

David Brauer
Director and Systems Development Manager
&
Luther McLachlan
Operations/WHS Manager

www.brauerindustries.com

Newsletter Sign - up

Latest News, Submissions & Award Winners

Our Sponsors

Latest News

Excellence Awards’ Winners Learn City’s Future

WINNERS of the 2023 Gold Coast Business Excellence Awards gathered to hear City of Gold Coast chief executive of...

Wild Earth is Gold Coast’s 2023 Business of Year

Fast growing Burleigh Heads-based outdoor equipment retailer Wild Earth has been named the Gold Coast's 2023...

Read All News

Media Sponsors

Contact us

Address: PO Box 417, Oxenford,
Queensland, Australia, 4210

Call:1300 694 777